Marry Me

November 10, 2007

I’ve been obsessed with St. Vincent since I first heard them last week on Stereogum. “Marry Me” is the debut album from the band, whose singer, Annie Clark, has roots in the Polyphonic Spree and with Sufjan Stevens.
I can’t really put my finger on why I like the album so much. Possibly because I’m always drawn to chick-led bands (I really want to be in one) or maybe because of the unique style of each of their songs. Annie Clark’s voice fluctuates from having a distinct Kate Bush quality in “The Apocalypse Song” to a deeper, lounge singer tone in “What Me Worry?” Her voice is refreshingly dynamic and really, you just have to experience it for yourself.

Now Now (mp3)

Paris is Burning (mp3)

Leave a Reply

