living, far east

September 19, 2011

September 1 to now.

I flew from Albuquerque to Dallas, then from Dallas (back over ABQ) to Tokyo. My flight to Nagoya was cancelled because of a monsoon, so I found my way by train: the high speed, Shinkansen. In Nagoya, I stuffed myself into a local train to Gifu.

Gifu is a “smaller” city, though it feels pretty enormous to me. We’re surrounded by mountains and the Nagara River cuts the city in half. I live north of the river and of downtown. From my balcony I can see Mount Kinka and Gifu Castle.

I ride my bike everywhere, except when i teach out in the countryside. Then, i have to drive.

Once I buy a new camera I will add pictures, but for now here’s a video i threw together:

3 Responses to “living, far east”

  1. Sounds wonderful!! A fabulous experience.

  2. sonya said

    We miss you Maggles.com.

  3. derbysu said

    what’s the music mags?

Leave a Reply

