Home again: ABQ

December 12, 2013

IMG_1264

After over 2 years circumnavigating the world, I landed back in Albuquerque for a week. I was greeted first by my beautiful friends who made it easy to forget the blip in time. Next by the much anticipated New Mexican food, which was at a constant flow despite my stomach’s initial wavering. And last by these beautiful melons jutting into a sky so blue and wide one is reminded of why this place is called “the center of the universe”.IMG_1270IMG_1269

Culture shock ensued; especially when it came to drinking out (bars start closing around 1:30) and all the open space (a little eerie at first- where are all the people?). My first day walking to breakfast I spotted a woman driving a semi through the neighborhood. She sported a mullet, a cigarette and some sweet cut off leather gloves. As she pulled through the intersection I couldn’t help but stare. She seemed to notice my amazement and gave me a slight head nod, which I interpreted as “welcome back”.

IMG_1288

I had the chance to go to Santa Fe and check out the current exhibition at the Museum of Contemporary Native Arts. Check out Cannupa Hanska Lugar’s Stereotype series:

I also took a workshop on the experimental use of 16mm projectors with Vancouver based artist, Alex MacKenzie. Check out his work here.

IMGP7617IMGP7645

I’ll be back Albuquerque.

One Response to “Home again: ABQ”

  1. trawlerowner said

    What a fabulous experience you have had! Seeing the world! We have seen much of the world ourselves BUT as Dorothy said in “The Wizard of Oz”…there is no place like home! Wherever it is.

Leave a Reply

